Faculty Advisory Board

University vista with gothic tower and multicolored trees

The Master of Arts Program in the Humanities (MAPH) Faculty Board is made up of a diverse group of University of Chicago faculty. Board members meet quarterly to discuss the shape and goals of MAPH.

Michele Lowrie Image

Michèle Lowrie, Board Chair
Andrew W. Mellon Distinguished Service Professor in Classics and in the College

Professor Lowrie’s research focuses on how Latin literature thinks about politics, particularly the ways political thought emerges from a text’s formal elements and figurative expression short of abstract conceptualization. She has published Horace’s Narrative Odes and Writing, Performance, and Authority in Augustan Rome, both from Oxford University Press. Edited volumes include Oxford Readings in Classical Studies: Horace’s Odes and Epodes and, together with Susanne Lüdemann, Exemplarity and Singularity: Thinking through Particulars in Philosophy, Literature, and Law, with Routledge. Current research focuses on civil war and security, both Roman concepts with long histories. A frequent visitor to the Center for Advanced Studies at the Ludwig-Maximilians-University in Munich, she has also held residential fellowships at the Center for Advanced Study in Princeton, the Warburg-Haus in Hamburg, the Research Center “Cultural Theory and Theory of the Political Imaginary” in Konstanz, the American Academy in Berlin, and the Institute of Advanced Study in Durham, England. She has received a Burkhardt Fellowship from the American Council of Learned Societies, as well as fellowships from the Loeb Classical Library Foundation and the National Endowment for the Humanities. Professor Lowrie gave the Gray Lectures at Cambridge in 2018. Her BA is from Yale and PhD from Harvard.

Allyson Field
Associate Professor of Cinema and Media Studies and the College

Andrei Pop
Associate Professor of Art History

Elaine Hadley
Professor of English Language and Literature and the Center for the Study of Gender and Sexuality

Miguel Martínez
Associate Professor of Spanish Literature

Kevin Davey
Associate Professor of Philosophy

Hoyt Long
Associate Professor of Japanese Literature and East Asian Languages and Civilizations

William Nickell
Associate Professor of Slavic Languages and Literatures

Jennifer Scappettone
Associate Professor of English Language and Literature; and the Committee on Creative Writing